Deputy Mayor of Torbay joins MNL Board as Avalon Director

October 12, 2018

St. John’s, NL – Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador (MNL) recently concluded their 68th Annual Conference and Trade Show in Gander this week. This year’s conference attracted nearly 500 delegates, exhibitors, speakers and government representatives.

Highlights of the conference included an address from the Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador, Honourable Dwight Ball and the Trade Show Grand Opening sponsored by Newfoundland Power with greetings from President and CEO Peter Alteen. MNL was also delighted to have Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) 1st Vice President, Bill Karsten in attendance.

Mayor Tony Keats chaired his first AGM as President and welcomed new Avalon Director, Deputy Mayor Trina Appleby of Torbay. Congratulations also go out to successful candidates Councillor Amy Coady-Davis (Grand Falls – Windsor) and Mayor Roger Barrett (Reidville) for being re-elected to their respective positions for Central and Western Director.

Elected by acclamation to their respective positions on the board are Eastern Director Paul Pike (St. Lawrence), Labrador Director Didier Naulleau (Pinware), and Northern Director Dale Colbourne (St. Lunaire-Griquet).

Resolutions passed at this year’s AGM include; Illegal All-Terrain Vehicle Use (Holyrood), Protection of Water Shed Areas (St. John’s), Municipal Safety Manuals for Municipalities (Baie Verte), Volunteer Firefighter Courtesy Light (Pasadena), Limits of Service Agreements (St. Lawrence) Mental Health Supports (Portugal Cove-St. Philip’s), Cell Coverage – Trans-Labrador Highway (Mary’s Harbour), Reduction of the Cost Recovery on Operations – Marine Atlantic (Channel-Port aux Basques).

In his first address to the membership, President Tony Keats spoke about following through on a strategic plan designed to build a more sustainable future for MNL.  Keats also said going into 2019 his number one priority for the municipal sector was modernizing the current Municipalities Act. Keats said MNL is continuing to work with the Department of Municipal Affairs and Environment to design new, less prescriptive legislation that gives municipalities more latitude to make decisions on behalf of residents and more tools to make their communities stronger.

Thanks also go out to our generous sponsors, The Department of Municipal Affairs and Environment, Cal LeGrow, Vigilant Management, and Newfoundland Power.




About MNL

Municipalities Newfoundland & Labrador (MNL) was formed in 1951 as an umbrella organization mandated to represent and support local government in Newfoundland and Labrador. MNL represents the 275 incorporated municipalities in the province that service 89 per cent of the population and their more than 2,000 leaders.

Gail Woodfine – Communications and Public Relations
Email: / Tel: 709-753-6820 / Fax: 709-738-0071 / Toll Free: 1-800-440-6536