Joint Council Elects New Executive

January 28, 2020 – Mount Pearl: The Northeast Avalon Joint Council (NEAJC) is pleased to announce the election of Councillor Mary Thorne-Gosse (Town of Torbay) as Chairperson. Ms. Thorne-Gosse replaces Mayor Joedy Wall of Pouch Cove, who served as Chair for the last two years.

“I am excited to take on the role of Chair of the Northeast Avalon Joint Council,” said Councillor Thorne-Gosse. “I look forward to supporting cooperation amongst member communities and advancing important municipal issues. We represent 19 communities and 40 per cent of the population of Newfoundland and Labrador and by working together we can make a positive impact on the region as a whole.”

Councillor Thorne-Gosse is joined by Mayor Craig R. Williams (Town of Conception Harbour) as Vice-Chair and Deputy Mayor Sam Whalen (Town of Colliers) as Treasurer. Mayor Williams is a former Chair (2016-2017), and Deputy Mayor Whalen has served as Treasurer for the last two years.

The NEAJC is a forum for the exchange of information between member municipalities. It acts as a lobby group with other levels of government on behalf of its members. It is also constituted to investigate new methods of delivering municipal services based on the principles of cooperation.

Current members of the NEAJC are Avondale, Bauline, Bay Bulls, Colliers, Conception Bay South, Conception Harbour, Flatrock, Harbour Main – Chapel’s Cove – Lakeview, Holyrood, Logy Bay-Middle Cove-Outer Cove, Mount Pearl, Paradise, Petty Harbour – Maddox Cove, Portugal Cove-St. Philips, Pouch Cove, St. John’s, Torbay, Wabana, and Witless Bay. Meetings are held monthly and members bring back information to their own councils on a regular basis.


Media Contact:

Mary Thorne-Gosse, 709-690-3688,