Members welcome new Board of Directors and new areas for action at AGM

November 16, 2019

St. John’s, NL – Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador is welcoming a new board of directors for the 2019-2020 year. Following the small towns and urban director elections Saturday afternoon and a carried motion to include a past president board position at the AGM, the now 12-member board is complete.

The new board of directors are as follows:

President – Sheila Fitzgerald, Mayor, Town of Roddickton-Bide Arm
Vice-president – Paul Pike, Mayor, Town of St. Lawrence
Avalon Director – Trina Appleby, Deputy Mayor, Town of Torbay
Central Director – Amy Coady-Davis, Councillor, Town of Grand Falls-Windsor
Eastern Director – Keith Keating, Councillor, Town of Marystown
Labrador Director – Didier Naulleau, Mayor, Town of Pinware
Northern Director – Dale Colbourne, Mayor, Town of St. Lunaire – Griquet
Western Director – Roger Barrett, Mayor, Town of Reidville
Small Towns Director – André Myers, Mayor, Town of Bird Cove
Urban Municipalities Director – Craig Scott, Mayor, Town of Torbay
St. John’s Director – Sheilagh O’Leary, Deputy Mayor, City of St. John’s
Past-president – Tony Keats, Mayor, Town of Dover

At the AGM, outgoing president Tony Keats provided his report to members and members voted on 13 resolutions. Eleven of those carried.

The resolutions will guide MNL to pursue stronger provincial municipal relationships on infrastructure, crown lands and streamlining municipal funding programs. Members supported resolutions to make amendments to the Wastewater Systems Effluent Regulations and to address short-term rental issues in the province. The session ended with support for a resolution to support breastfeeding-friendly communities.

“It’s been an exciting year at MNL,” said outgoing president Tony Keats. “We’ve accomplished a lot and we continue to move forward as an organization.”

Incoming president Sheila Fitzgerald will be the third female president in MNL’s history.

“I am thrilled to be taking on this role. We are starting from a great place with the new board. We support our members to talk with one another; we support our female members to talk with one another and we will move into the next year ready to build upon our work and get results for our members,” said incoming president Sheila Fitzgerald.

New board members assume their roles effective Sunday, November 17, 2019.


For more information
2019 resolutions

About MNL

Municipalities Newfoundland & Labrador (MNL) was formed in 1951 as an umbrella organization mandated to represent and support local government in Newfoundland and Labrador. MNL represents the 275 incorporated municipalities in the province that service 89 per cent of the population and their more than 2,000 leaders.