MNL announces 2016 Tidy Towns winners

The Tidy Towns competition has been encouraging community beautification and enhancement efforts in Newfoundland and Labrador for 20 years. This year’s award ceremony luncheon in celebration of 20 years was held today at the St. John’s Convention Centre in downtown St. John’s, NL. The awards luncheon is part of the Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador (MNL) annual convention.

“The competition inspires a huge amount of voluntary effort in communities across our province,” says MNL President Karen Oldford. “The effort of these volunteers improves the environment in which we live and also fosters community pride. I’m delighted that MNL and the Department of Municipal Affairs continue to work in partnership to deliver a program that grows volunteer effort throughout the province and motivates sustainable change where we can all work together to make our communities the very best they can be.”

Over the years, participating Tidy Towns communities have improved the overall environment of the province of Newfoundland and Labrador, in addition to the obvious “green and clean” reasons to participate it also explores our individually through heritage and community placemaking.

“On behalf of the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, I offer sincere congratulations to all winners and participants in this year’s Tidy Towns program. This program is a great way to honour communities that invest significant time and money toward beautifying their communities for the benefit of residents. Our government was pleased to provide $30,000 again this year to support the program.”

– The Honourable Eddie Joyce, Minister of Municipal Affairs

The winners in the Population Categories are as follows:

  • Town of Heart’s Content
  • Town of Appleton
  • Town of Glenwood
  • Town of Flatrock
  • Town of Trinity Bay North
  • Town of Carbonear
  • Town of Paradise

Receiving this year’s Award of Excellence is:

  • Town Petty Harbour – Maddox Cove
  • Town of Victoria
  • Town of Gander

The 2016 recipient of the Cal LeGrow Outstanding Community Award is the Town of Garnish.