Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador Reacts to Provincial and Federal Budgets

For Immediate Release
April 8, 2022

St. John’s, NL – Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador (MNL) welcomes investments in the municipal sector announced in Thursday’s provincial and federal budgets.

MNL is pleased to see that the provincial government has listened to our call to protect investments in municipal operating grants (MOGs). For at least the next three years, MOGs will be no less than $22 million annually. Municipalities deliver essential services, programs, and infrastructure to residents. MOGs support this critical work and help to ensure stability in the sector.

MNL welcomes all investments in municipal infrastructure. Municipalities are responsible for 60 percent of Canada’s public infrastructure. In Newfoundland and Labrador, municipalities will require significant investments for improving water and wastewater infrastructure in this province. They will continue to need multi-year flexible funding tools. Sustained investments in the multi-year capital works program and the Canada Community-Building Fund, announced in the budget, are necessary.

Municipalities can be, and are, part of solutions to support people in our communities, but we need the right tools and resources. MNL welcomes announcements in the provincial and federal budgets that support housing and transit. We look forward to partnerships with both levels of government to carry out this important work.

Yesterday’s budget speech confirmed the provincial government’s commitment to regionalization. Regionalization is a process. It requires continued input and engagement. We need to support communities in their discussions of what will work best for them in their regions. MNL will continue to advocate for new funding resources to make this possible and to do this right.

“We have been clear about the importance of investing in our municipalities. We are pleased to see sustained investments and we will continue to advocate for our members’ needs.” – MNL President Amy Coady