Municipal leaders to attend MNL’s Municipal Symposium and 70th AGM online.

For Immediate Release
May 4, 2021

St. John’s, NL – Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador (MNL) Interim Chair Amy Coady-Davis will open the 2021 Municipal Symposium and Chair the 70th annual general meeting of Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador this week.

An entirely online event, agenda items on this year’s conference program include a plenary session with Minister of Municipal and Provincial Affairs, The Honourable Krista Lynn Howell where she will address delegates for the first time since taking on the portfolio last month. Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) President Garth Frizzell will also bring greetings during the AGM. We’re also delighted to have Health Accord NL Co-Chairs, Sister Elizabeth Davis and Dr. Patrick Parfrey join us with a review of their work thus far.

More than 200 participants will attend 41 concurrent and plenary sessions including Municipal Election Readiness and Building a Healthy Democracy. In partnership with the Anti-Racism Coalition NL, MNL is also proud to present a Keynote on Anti-Racism moderated by Vincent Estick, former tech industry senior executive, current entrepreneur and Futurpreneur Program mentor. Panelists include Laurabel Mba, a Fund Development Coordinator with the Canadian Mental Health Association (NL) and board member of the St. John’s Status of Women’s Council along with Mi’kmaq activist Robert Leamon and migrant rights activist Maria Dussan.

Elections will take place during this event for the positions of Avalon, Eastern, Western directors. A by-election will take place for the position of Small Towns Director. Uncontested in their bids for regional directors are Councillor Amy Coady-Davis of Grand Falls-Windsor for Central Director, Councillor Robert Boudreau of Cartwright for Labrador Director and Mayor Dale Colbourne of St. Lunaire-Griquet for Northern Director.

“This past year has brought with it many challenges, uncertainty, stress and courage. Through it all, this organization has stayed the course, keeping our members’ needs as our top priority. I am proud of the program we have put together this weekend and am honoured to chair the 70th annual general meeting.” Councillor Amy Coady-Davis, Interim Chair, Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador.

A full convention agenda can be found here on the MNL website.

Media are invited to attend Thursday and Friday’s sessions, please email Gail Woodfine at for an access code. MNL would like to thank all our sponsors, including Presenting Sponsors Rock Networks and the NL Association of CBDCs, as well as Cal LeGrow, Stewart McKelvey, Municipal Assessment Agency, NL911, Eastern Regional Service Board, Johnson Insurance, Telus Business, and many others.